My Plans

Discission about the future of Aardvark Topsites PHP.

Postby Matt » 2004-08-04 04:25 pm

coolnico wrote:Glad you agree psy :D
Btw my mum bawt me a manual for php 2day. PHP5 for dummies infact. I've read the 1st few chapters, and like the way its set out, but doesnt provide answers to all my questions, but I don't know what a good manual is.
But hopefully if I get my act to together I will be able to help ya with 5.0 :D

Read the PHP Manual, it is extremely good and explains very well what functions do and gives you example of how they can be used its also a very useful reference guide

http://www.php.net/manual/en/

What you do is have the option of Uploading the image or entering the URL to upload the image. If the admin has turned on file upload the button URL will then trancefure a copy of the button onto your webspace or upload it form your hard drive. If its turned off you just have the enter link which just links directly to the image on their site.
Matt
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: 2003-11-18 09:46 am
Location: UK, England

Yeah

Postby coolnico » 2004-08-05 05:48 am

Yeah, I believe that has got to be defo feature of 5.0.0
coolnico
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2004-04-18 06:15 pm
Location: MD

Postby Matt » 2004-08-05 05:08 pm

defo?

the PHP manual has had all the basic PHP5 info since the second beta and the rest of it is just PHP4
Matt
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: 2003-11-18 09:46 am
Location: UK, England

Postby x3knet » 2004-08-05 05:17 pm

CT wrote:I think in the next version the default URL length should be increased a little, to 80-85 perhaps. Some member URLs are long, especially when you add other topsites as members to your list.
Example -
http://www.freephotoshoptemplates.com/c ... myusername


This is definately a true point, because somebody can have a domain name that is 63 characters long at the max. That's NOT including the http://www. or the .com.
x3knet
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-05-02 10:03 pm
Location: Secaucus, NJ

defo

Postby coolnico » 2004-08-06 05:28 am

defo = defintely

I would rather be learning from a book, cuz then I don't have to wait for all the pages to load.

Anyway, I'm sure I will learn php one way or another
coolnico
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2004-04-18 06:15 pm
Location: MD

Postby Matt » 2004-08-06 07:10 pm

PHP.net is very fast + you can print them off
Matt
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: 2003-11-18 09:46 am
Location: UK, England

Postby x3knet » 2004-08-06 10:45 pm

How about an email validation so people don't sign up with phony email addresses so when you send a mass email you get a thousand MAILER-DEMON messages in your inbox. (Happened to me just before)

So when people sign up, they have to activate their account by clicking a link inside the email address. And if the email isn't validated, they can't add their site and the account they tried signing up with automatically deletes within 30 days or a date that the admin can set..
-Mike
http://www.RateMySites.com
http://www.PSBattles.com - Want to buy this domain? GO to it and make an offer!
http://www.MailSell.com
x3knet
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-05-02 10:03 pm
Location: Secaucus, NJ

Postby Sjkv » 2004-08-07 09:52 am

Code: Select all
onerror="this.onerror=null;this.width='0';this.height='0';"


you can put that in the img code and when it gives a error it will show nothing, you can also modify that to show a other button on error and such.

btw im back :roll: havent been here in a while...
im still thinking about making a skin for /\ardvark and i will one day..

just like in most forum a backup function. just click and you download a gzip compression backup from the whole database. that would be nice.

ABOUT the unique hits. maybe its an idea to put that in the admin panel to let the admin chose what he wants. so no extra navigation with, unique hits, unique hits total, hits out, hits in, etc .. just one (but you can switch them in the admin)

USERNAMES INSTEAD OF ID'S! GOOOOOOD! thats something i would really like.. and it could be functional for intergrating with phpbb, invision, nuke, etc

hits in, hits out.

i would like if that function also could be with MONTHS, WEEKS and DAYS. not only days.

well thats about all..
Last edited by Sjkv on 2004-08-12 05:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sjkv
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2003-12-29 08:05 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Sjkv » 2004-08-07 10:10 am

1 more thing: http://www.aardvarkind.com/topsites/ind ... stats&id=1

with the comments... how come it is in such a strange order? 1-999 is ok.. 999-1 is also ok, but why is it in a randomly order?

i hope you fix this thing in a newer version.
Sjkv
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2003-12-29 08:05 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Emily » 2004-08-11 05:39 am

How about a comment function under the site descriptions instead of the reviews, since some people don't know where they are. Also, it would be nice if it could pop up when people click on it too.
Emily
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-04-07 08:21 pm

Postby Matt » 2004-08-11 08:28 am

x3knet wrote:How about an email validation so people don't sign up with phony email addresses so when you send a mass email you get a thousand MAILER-DEMON messages in your inbox. (Happened to me just before)

So when people sign up, they have to activate their account by clicking a link inside the email address. And if the email isn't validated, they can't add their site and the account they tried signing up with automatically deletes within 30 days or a date that the admin can set..


That could be worth looking into

Emily wrote:How about a comment function under the site descriptions instead of the reviews, since some people don't know where they are. Also, it would be nice if it could pop up when people click on it too.


A review system is exactly the same as a comments system, if you want to change it all you need to do is change the word review (and every variation of it) inside the language file.
Matt
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: 2003-11-18 09:46 am
Location: UK, England

Postby psyblast » 2004-08-11 07:03 pm

Sjkv wrote:
Code: Select all
onerror="this.onerror=null;this.width='0';this.height='0';"


you can put that in the img code and when it gives a error it will show nothing, you can also modify that to show a other button on error and such.


what would the code be to display the default topsite button? ive tried a bunch of things and got errors on all the tries, and still had broken images.
psyblast
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2004-02-23 12:16 am

Postby Matt » 2004-08-11 08:46 pm

all you need to do is make the default button ether trancparent GIF that is 1x1 and nothing will be displayed
Matt
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: 2003-11-18 09:46 am
Location: UK, England

Postby psyblast » 2004-08-12 04:09 pm

i dont want nothing to show up, i want the default button to show up . . .

i figured that the code would be this

onerror="this.onerror=null;this.'http://www.pokemontop500.com/images/ad_button.jpg';"

but that doesnt work >_<
psyblast
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2004-02-23 12:16 am

Postby Matt » 2004-08-12 05:33 pm

that wont work try this

onerror="this.onerror=null;this.src='http://www.pokemontop500.com/images/ad_button.jpg';"
Matt
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: 2003-11-18 09:46 am
Location: UK, England

PreviousNext

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest