5.0 Beta Released

The latest news can be found here.

Postby Speedmike » 2005-08-20 02:40 pm

Hi,

i have tried to make the upgrade from Ver. 4.2.2 to the new Beta like you said but i will get everytime an error:

Fatal error: Database error in "/home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/topsites/install/upgrade.php" on line 140

Table 'ats_settings' already exists in /home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/topsites/sources/sql/mysql.php on line 79


And now nothing will work anymore!

What do i have to do that the upgrade will work without mistakes.

Thanks
Mike
Last edited by Speedmike on 2005-08-24 05:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Speedmike
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2005-08-20 02:35 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-20 03:34 pm

that can't be the first error you got. that error would only show up if you run the upgrader more than once. if it gave you an error the first time and didn't complete the upgrade, do you know what that first error was? if you tell me that, i'll fix the bug and tell you how to complete the upgrade.

if you don't remember, i could investigate and find it myself if you point me towards phpmyadmin (probably).
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Speedmike » 2005-08-20 08:15 pm

So, i have restored my Backup and everything worked fine again. Then i tried to make the upgrade again and now i got this error:

Fatal error: Database error in "/home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/topsites/install/upgrade.php" on line 158

All parts of a PRIMARY KEY must be NOT NULL; If you need NULL in a key, use UNIQUE instead in /home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/topsites/sources/sql/mysql.php on line 79


Hope this info will help you.

mfg Mike
Last edited by Speedmike on 2005-08-24 05:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Speedmike
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2005-08-20 02:35 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-20 08:45 pm

hmm that's a strange error. can't say i've seen that before.

would you mind telling my what version of mysql you're runnning?

and, if you'll be even more cooperative, run this query in phpmyadmin:
Code: Select all
CREATE TABLE ats_categories (category varchar(255) default '', skin varchar(255) default '', PRIMARY KEY  (`category`))

do you get the same error message? if so, try this:
Code: Select all
CREATE TABLE ats_categories (category varchar(255), skin varchar(255), PRIMARY KEY  (`category`))

does that give you an error?
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Speedmike » 2005-08-21 09:22 am

So, i tried both strings you gave me in phpmyadmin and got everytime the same error with this message:

Fehler
SQL-Befehl :

CREATE TABLE ats_categories (category varchar(255), skin varchar(255), PRIMARY KEY (`category`))

MySQL meldet:

All parts of a PRIMARY KEY must be NOT NULL; If you need NULL in a key, use UNIQUE instead


mfg Mike
Speedmike
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2005-08-20 02:35 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-21 09:58 am

ok, can you tell me what version of mysql you are using? running the same query on each of the several servers i've tested the script on worked fine.

also, try this one, which i think will work:
Code: Select all
CREATE TABLE ats_categories (category varchar(255) NOT NULL, skin varchar(255), PRIMARY KEY  (`category`))
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Speedmike » 2005-08-21 03:02 pm

Sorry, i forgot. My Php-Version is 4.3.0

By the way the string you gave me in your last posting works without any error. :D

mfg Mike
Speedmike
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2005-08-20 02:35 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-21 03:58 pm

mysql version, not php.

thanks for your help, i'll fix the installer and upgrader for the next release. if you want to test it out for me, rename this to upgrade.php: http://www.aardvarkind.com/upgrade.txt
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Speedmike » 2005-08-21 04:06 pm

I think i should clean my glasses. :D

Version is: MySQL 3.23.37


mfg Mike

PS: I tried it again with your new upgrade.php but it don´t works.

Fatal error: Database error in "/home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/topsites/install/upgrade.php" on line 178

All parts of a PRIMARY KEY must be NOT NULL; If you need NULL in a key, use UNIQUE instead in /home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/topsites/sources/sql/mysql.php on line 79
Last edited by Speedmike on 2005-08-24 05:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Speedmike
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2005-08-20 02:35 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-21 05:07 pm

can you try it again now? i uploaded a new upgrade.txt.

sorry i'm making you go all through this, but hopefully this will work. if not, i'll try again.

thank you so much for helping test this.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Speedmike » 2005-08-21 05:55 pm

So, I´ve made a fresh install for testing and put in phpmyadmin the backup of the members and stats in but i still get the same error with your new upgrade.

Fatal error: Database error in "/home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/Topsite/install/upgrade.php" on line 178

All parts of a PRIMARY KEY must be NOT NULL; If you need NULL in a key, use UNIQUE instead in /home/www/htdocs/xxxxxxxx.de/Topsite/sources/sql/mysql.php on line 79


mfg Mike
Last edited by Speedmike on 2005-08-24 05:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Speedmike
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2005-08-20 02:35 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-21 06:02 pm

that's very werid. i don't know why it says that. the query explicitly states that the primary key is not null. so i don't understand the error message.

to get by that one, you could go into phpmyadmin and change the primary key in ats_reviews to unique.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby zeldamqgc » 2005-08-25 06:50 pm

Jeremy do you have this in a zip version so i can test it out on my own?I tried the version you have up for testing but it comes up to a white screen with nothing on it so you know.
Image
i will love this year's camp hyrule!!!!
zeldamqgc
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2004-07-03 04:32 pm
Location: hyrule castle

Postby Rich » 2005-08-25 07:48 pm

I get the same error as Mike but on the Installation and not the upgrade.
Rich
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2005-08-24 12:14 pm

Postby Jeremy » 2005-08-25 09:51 pm

zelda: final will have a zip too. but, any archive management program should be able to extract .tar.bz2. if you have linux or mac it works by default... i think on windows you might have to download some extra program.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron