Aardvark Topsites PHP 5.2.0 RC1 Released

The latest news can be found here.

Aardvark Topsites PHP 5.2.0 RC1 Released

Postby Jeremy » 2007-05-19 05:05 pm

DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Exactly one week after the beta, here is the first release candidate. "Release candidate" means that I think the script is complete and bug free, but it has not been thoroughly tested. So please test it and post any feedback in the development forum. If you found a bug, post it. If you found a typo, post it. If you are using it without a problem, post it. If the upgrader worked for you, post it. You get the idea... all feedback is appreciated.

Changes since the beta:
A couple minor bug fixes
Password confirmation on the join page to prevent typos
Bosnian, Czech, Danish, Finnish, French, and German translations
The classic skin is now included
Upgraders are available for versions >= 4.1
The manual has been udated with upgrade instructions for the script and for skins

Changes since 5.1.2:
Various small admin UI fixes
Unapproved sites will not be automatically deleted for inactivity
Option in the admin to fill empty rows with "Your Site Here"
Backup database from admin
Validates $_SERVER before use
A more secure captcha, with a link for users to get a new captcha if the user can't read the first one
Displays the banner max width/height in the join and edit forms
Redesigned gateway page for the Fusion skin by OS-Mark
When you enable admin approval of new members, the welcome email is delayed until you approve the site
button.php only displays a button for valid, approved members
It is impossible to set the number of members per page to 0
Users cannot create their own categories by bypassing the join/edit forms
Quotes and other special HTML characters can be used in titles and descriptions without problems
Under normal usage, there should be no PHP error messages, even at E_ALL
Users pending approval will not be allowed to login to the user control panel
Banning of sites by URL, IP address, username, email
Checks if allow_url_fopen is On before checking banner size and checking for the latest version
Missing </option> tags were added so that all pages should validate as XHTML 1.0 Transitional
user_cp.php renamed to user_cpl.php because of mod_security on some servers
Optional security question on join to block spammers
By default, new members must be approved by the admin before they are listed
By default, changes to the title or URL of a site must be approved by the admin
New skin file table_wrapper.html to easily display things only on ranking pages
Overall stats displayed on the main page
Last edited by Jeremy on 2007-05-19 08:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby FLIP » 2007-05-19 05:08 pm

Nice...downloading now.
FLIP
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2005-07-01 06:16 pm

Postby FLIP » 2007-05-19 06:06 pm

Did you decide to change the url of the user control panel from "index.php?a=user_cp" to "index.php?a=user_cpl"? Or is that a typo?
FLIP
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2005-07-01 06:16 pm

Postby Jeremy » 2007-05-19 06:15 pm

some users had problems with the user_cp url because of a semi-popular set of mod_security rules, so i have changed it to hopefully avert that issue.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby FLIP » 2007-05-19 06:37 pm

Jeremy Scheff wrote:some users had problems with the user_cp url because of a semi-popular set of mod_security rules, so i have changed it to hopefully avert that issue.

Oh, okay.

Sorry, I just noticed right now it was in the first post.
FLIP
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2005-07-01 06:16 pm

Postby OS-Mark » 2007-05-19 08:39 pm

upgraded my test 5.1.2 site with no trouble at all :)
CSS / HTML / Aardvark Stuff
VisioList - A Paid Fork Of The Worlds Best Topsite: Aardvark Topsites
Why VisioList? Fast, timely support. Constant updates and improvements, modification plugins for smooth upgrades and more!
OS-Mark
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2005-05-02 01:37 am
Location: Canada

Postby boardhopper » 2007-05-20 12:25 am

Jeremy Scheff wrote:some users had problems with the user_cp url because of a semi-popular set of mod_security rules, so i have changed it to hopefully avert that issue.

In the PHP 5.2 Manual for Upgrade Skins, I do not see the skin changes for the CP url change in wrapper.html and user_cp.html.

Upgraded my topsite and skin. So far everything seems to be working good.
boardhopper
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2006-01-02 03:25 pm
Location: USA

Postby Jeremy » 2007-05-20 01:00 am

boardhopper wrote:
Jeremy Scheff wrote:some users had problems with the user_cp url because of a semi-popular set of mod_security rules, so i have changed it to hopefully avert that issue.

In the PHP 5.2 Manual for Upgrade Skins, I do not see the skin changes for the CP url change in wrapper.html and user_cp.html.

Upgraded my topsite and skin. So far everything seems to be working good.

thanks for the tip.. i had actually written that, but forgot to upload the file. it's fixed now.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Zidane007nl » 2007-05-20 08:17 am

Thanks for the release!
I've upgraded my topsites without any problems. :)

Edit: Got one problem though, the overall stats are not working. The rest is working great! I had an php error, but that was my fault. It was my testing account that I deleted and then I went to edit account (was still logged in in user cp).
Zidane007nl
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2004-05-26 02:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Jeremy » 2007-05-20 01:43 pm

what do you mean overall stats aren't working? can you be more specific? they are cached daily, so maybe that is the problem you are noticing?
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Zidane007nl » 2007-05-20 03:47 pm

So they update once a day? Ah, no wonder I'm only seeing zeros, lol. Then everything is running right. :D
Zidane007nl
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 2004-05-26 02:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Gamecock » 2007-05-20 05:10 pm

Jeremy Scheff wrote:what do you mean overall stats aren't working? can you be more specific? they are cached daily, so maybe that is the problem you are noticing?


As we now see, having overall stats just cached daily can cause a bit of confusion...

Are numbers in full admin stats are up to the minute or using the same delay as button ranks (default 12 hours)?

If so, same routine can be used for a stats page right?
Gamecock
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 288
Joined: 2006-01-06 09:09 am
Location: Charleston, SC USA

Postby Jeremy » 2007-05-20 05:40 pm

the numbers in the admin are dynamic. the main page numbers will stabilize after a few days and no one will notice the caching.
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Jeremy » 2007-05-20 07:04 pm

http://www.toptopsites.com/index.php?a=stats gamecock, how does this look?
Jeremy
Supreme Diety
 
Posts: 8922
Joined: 2003-05-05 04:41 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Dubai » 2007-05-21 11:40 pm

The upgrade did not cause any problems, but since I upgraded my daily stats are not resetting anymore. Any clue why this could be?
Dubai
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-05-21 11:37 pm

Next

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests