Counting example-hits like in the demo-toplist

Various mods to change or add features.

Counting example-hits like in the demo-toplist

Postby Uwe_B » 2010-04-12 07:33 am

Hi,
i´ve seen, that in the demo-toplist http://www.aardvarktopsitesphp.com/topsites/ are placeholder-sites without the button (example.com), but the list counts pageviews and hits somehow. I also integrated some links without backlinks, how does it work, that this sites generate hits?
Uwe_B
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-04-11 07:41 am

Re: Counting example-hits like in the demo-toplist

Postby OS-Mark » 2010-04-12 01:47 pm

its safe to say the stats are randomly generated for the purpose of the demo..
CSS / HTML / Aardvark Stuff
VisioList - A Paid Fork Of The Worlds Best Topsite: Aardvark Topsites
Why VisioList? Fast, timely support. Constant updates and improvements, modification plugins for smooth upgrades and more!
OS-Mark
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2005-05-02 01:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Counting example-hits like in the demo-toplist

Postby Uwe_B » 2010-04-14 12:35 pm

Ok, then i have to order the sites by hits out.

But i have two further questions:

1. How can i configure the search, that the query must contain at least 3 characters?

2. How can i mod_rewrite the urls from /index.php?cat=name to /name and from /index.php?cat=name&method=&start=11 to /name/2/ or something like this? Has anyone written a rewrite-rule so far?

Best regards,
Uwe
Uwe_B
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-04-11 07:41 am

Re: Counting example-hits like in the demo-toplist

Postby OS-Mark » 2010-04-14 01:51 pm

1. modify sources/search.php using strlen() function to do what you need. Hopefully you will consider sharing when your done.

2. mod rewrite is here: http://www.osempire.com/community/showthread.php?t=6248
CSS / HTML / Aardvark Stuff
VisioList - A Paid Fork Of The Worlds Best Topsite: Aardvark Topsites
Why VisioList? Fast, timely support. Constant updates and improvements, modification plugins for smooth upgrades and more!
OS-Mark
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2005-05-02 01:37 am
Location: Canada

Re: Counting example-hits like in the demo-toplist

Postby xl1200c » 2010-10-31 02:18 am

@ Uwe_B
the code in version 5.2.1 fails to exclude searches with 2 or less characters
the problem is in the file /sources/search.php
specifically the variable $words is not redefined if count($filtered_words) = 0
to resolve change
Code: Select all
    if (count($filtered_words) > 0) {
      $words = $filtered_words;
    }
to
Code: Select all
    if (count($filtered_words) > 0) {
      $words = $filtered_words;
      $TMPL['query'] = implode(' ',$words);
    }
    else {
      $this->error("Search requires 3 or more characters. Please try again.");
    }
in the code above i added the line
Code: Select all
      $TMPL['query'] = implode(' ',$words);
so that the excluded search input would not be shown in the search results
xl1200c
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2010-10-17 09:57 pm


Return to Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron